Welcome to Beatle Me Do!

Hello! Welcome to my new blog, Beatle Me Do! I’ve started this blog primarily so I can talk about my four favorite lads in the whole wide world, The Beatles. I’ll post stuff about Monty Python, my other British obsession, as well. And if the Mets are halfway decent, they’ll get a few posts here and there. However, this blog is mostly devoted to John, Paul, George, and Ringo, and their music both with the Beatles and after the Beatles broke up. So if you don’t like the Beatles, this may not be the blog for you. Sorry, I can’t please everyone. 🙂

As a first post, I thought I’d share some of my Beatle-related “favorites”:

Favorite Beatle: George Harrison

Favorite Beatle Album: Rubber Soul

Favorite Beatle Song: While My Guitar Gently Weeps

Favorite Beatle Movie: Either Help! or A Hard Day’s Night. My head might explode trying to decide between those two.

Favorite Solo Beatle Album: All Things Must Pass (George Harrison)

Favorite Solo Beatle Song: What is Life (George Harrison, from All Things Must Pass. Noticing a pattern so far?)

Favorite TV Appearance by the Beatles: I have to go with the first Ed Sullivan show on this one, but their turn as characters from Shakespeare’s A Midsummer’s Night Dream comes in a close second.

Favorite Beatle Book: A Date with a Beatle, by Judith Kristen. It’s all about a 15 year old girl in 1964 who falls in love with the Beatles, George Harrison in particular (I can relate!), and tries desparately to meet them. In the end, she actually gets to meet George! However, for purely informational purposes, The Beatles Anthology is the only Beatle book you’ll ever need.

Favorite Promotional Film/Music Video by the Beatles: This is tough, but either Ticket to Ride because of John’s terrible lip-syncing, Revolution because of George’s casual-yet-cool outfit, or I Feel Fine because of Ringo’s expert cycling. Also, Hello Goodbye because of the dance party at the end of the video that you really must see to believe.

Here are links to these videos:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gETqdXI6Klg Ticket to Ride
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7W43wXWT8t4 Revolution
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EWLJegqXIgM I Feel Fine
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPJltZLH78Q Hello Goodbye

If you have a particular favorite, feel free to comment and share. Thanks!

One thought on “Welcome to Beatle Me Do!

Leave a Reply

