ELO, John Lennon, and American Idol

George Harrison and Jeff Lynne, buddies and pals.

George Harrison and Jeff Lynne, buddies and pals.

This title may seem rather random, but I had a few random thoughts I wanted to share on the blog today.
First, if you don’t know who ELO is, the letters stand for Electric Light Orchestra. It was a British band with Jeff Lynne at the helm that was popular during the 1970s and 1980s. Jeff Lynne is a well-known Beatlemaniac and a good friend of George Harrison (I feel like every other musician I listen to is either George, a different Beatle, a friend of George, or George’s son), and the music of ELO really reflects the Beatle influence with its many dramatic string arrangements and very catchy melodies. Their songs, at least the ones that I know, generally rock and are fun to listen to.
I was reminded of ELO the other night after not having listened to them in a while. I had just finished a LONG study session for my math midterm, and afterwards, I found myself having an impromptu dance marathon to some of ELO’s more upbeat songs. I’d forgotten jsut how great their songs are! Basically, if you like the Beatles, you’d like ELO, so if you like the Beatles but don’t know ELO, check them out!
Here are a few of my favorite songs by ELO:

Don’t Bring Me Down

This song flat-out rocks. I can’t stop myself from dancing whenever I hear it. A little embarrassing, but it’s true.

Can’t Get It Out Of My Head

This is perhaps the second most beautiful song ever recorded, after The Beatles’ Something. It’s so beautiful that sometimes it makes me tear up a bit. To me, it sounds like a mix of Something, Let It Be, and The Long And Winding Road. Once I hear it, I can’t get it out of my head.

Evil Woman

I used to listen to this song in the car with my family, and not knowing who ELO was, I thought it was part of a Broadway soundtrack or something like that. I was mistaken, but I still love this song! Jeff Lynne sounds a little like John Lennon here, I think. To the rest of the world, maybe not.

Mr. Blue Sky

This is probably the most famous Beatlesque song by ELO. I absolutely love it, and the creative arrangement never fails to surprise me. I feel like this song could have fit right in on Sgt. Pepper as a John/Paul collaboration. Wishful thinking, I suppose, but really, Sgt. Pepper is just fine the way it is.

Do Ya

Amazing song. Great guitar. End of story.

To quote Monty Python, “And now for something completely different!”

Yesterday in the car, I had a random vision of John Lennon trying out for American Idol. I don’t know why this came to mind, but the thought was so funny that I burst out laughing. I can just picture him going in there with his guitar and Liverpudlian accent and singing Across the Universe as his audition. Then, Randy Jackson and the other judges would say stuff like, “We think you’re really special! We love your voice! Welcome to Hollywood!” John would probably say something like “Thank you very much,” run out of the audition room yelling “I MADE IT!” and give whoever was around a big hug.
Then, I pictured Paul auditioning, being his cute and charming self and singing Let It Be or Hey Jude. He and John would both make it for sure if they tried out today. Imagine a John Lennon/Paul McCartney finale of American Idol! That would be amazing!
George probably wouldn’t want the instant fame that comes with auditioning for a reality show like American Idol.
And honestly, I love Ringo, but I’m not sure if his singing skills alone would carry him though the competition. Still, he’d certainly be a fan favorite!

Thus concludes this random post on Beatle Me Do. I hope I passed the audition.

Leave a Reply

