And Now For Something Completely Different… Foster The People!

I know this is supposed to be a Beatle-centric blog, but I’ve decided to deviate from that for a day to talk about one of my favorite bands of this generation, Foster the People. I figure that this is turning out to be as much of a music blog as it is a Beatle blog, so I hope you’re all okay with this!
If you’re not already a fan of Foster the People, you probably know their song “Pumped Up Kicks” which has been really popular for the last couple of years. I first found out about Foster the People from watching their performance on Saturday Night Live in 2011. I was at a cast party, and everyone was watching SNL. When Foster the People was announced as the musical guest, singing Pumped Up Kicks, I had no idea who they were. I don’t think I’d even heard the song before that. And watching them perform on TV, I thought they were a little weird. Keep in mind that I wasn’t a full blown Beatlemaniac yet at this point, so my appreciation for slightly weird music hadn’t really developed.
Anyway, I was still intrigued by their performance, and soon after that, someone in my family downloaded Pumped Up Kicks from iTunes. By that point, I’d been hearing the song everywhere, and I was surprised that there was a song from this century that I liked so much. I looked up Foster the People on iTunes and saw that they had a whole album out, Torches. I previewed all the songs and was pleasantly surprised to hear that Pumped Up Kicks wasn’t the only good song on the album!
After downloading the entire album, I listened to it, and was floored. I couldn’t believe how much I liked all of the songs! Every one is unique, yet they all fit together on a truly fantastic album. I can’t choose one favorite song because they’re all so great! This was probably the first time I even listened to an entire album; I don’t think I’d listened to all of Rubber Soul yet at this point.
To give you a sample of why I like Foster the People so much, here’s them performing one of my favorites off Torches, Helena Beat, live a few years ago.

And here they are performing an amazing acoustic version of this song! Two completely different versions of the same song, but both are great in their own way.

Of course, they will NEVER be better than the Beatles, or become my #1 favorite band. And as much as I like Mark Foster, he’s no John, Paul, George, or Ringo. But still, it’s nice to like a band that plays all their own instruments, writes their own songs, and still actually makes music! They give me hope that modern music can still be fresh and exciting.
Don’t feel obligated to buy Torches on iTunes, but I guarantee you won’t regret it if you do.

And for all of you hardcore Beatlemaniacs, don’t worry, I’m going back to my regularly scheduled Beatle-related blogging tomorrow! After all, February 9th is Ed Sullivan Day!
Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

