A Brief History of the Beatles at the Grammys

Since today is the 55th annual Grammy awards, I thought I’d dig up any interesting videos of the Beatles at the Grammys I could find. Here’s one that I love, of John Lennon and Paul Simon presenting at the 1974 Grammys. John is so funny!!! If he hadn’t been a Beatle, he easily could have been a successful comedian.

6/3/13 UPDATE: I don’t know why I feel the need to keep updating this post, but just in case anyone’s still reading it, here you go. I’d just like to say that as a newly minted fan of Elton John, he should have won this award! “Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me” is a great song! That is all.

And here is a video of Paul performing at the Grammys in 2006. I looked for his performance from last year’s Grammys, but I couldn’t find it. I wish he was performing this year, but I’ll have to settle for hoping he gets interviewed on the red carpet beforehand.

I love the cool piano in the first song!!!

Here’s Ringo accepting the award for Album of the Year, the Concert for Bangladesh to which he contributed, in 1972.

I love when he carries the whole tray of Grammys off at the end! No one could give poor Ringo a hand? Oh well, he survived.

Finally, here’s Paul accepting the award for Best Film Score for Let It Be in 1971. This might be the first time I’ve ever heard him say less than 5 words in a row. He usually likes to talk a lot!

I couldn’t find a video of George at the Grammys… 😦
Anyway, I’m off to hope Paul shows up on TV! Have a great week!

2/11/13 UPDATE: Paul won the Grammy last night for Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album, for Kisses On The Bottom. Yay Paulie!!!! Congratulations!!! I let out a loud “Yes!!” when I saw that he’d won and did a little victory dance. I’d been looking forward to finding out all day, and I knew that he just HAD to win! Although I didn’t see him on TV, it was still worth watching the Grammys. PAUL ROCKS!!!

Leave a Reply

