Eric Idle is my Idol

Well… Not quite. I mean, I love Eric Idle to death, but he hasn’t reached “George status” yet. I don’t think anyone besides George Harrison can reach “George status,” actually! Still, there was a pun that had to be made, and I made it.
So, anyway, I remembered that I said in my first post that I would post about Monty Python, and as of now, I have not done so. That’s about to change, because in this post I’ll describe why I love Monty Python and why Eric Idle is my favorite member of Monty Python. So Python fans, here you go!

My obsession with Monty Python is a fairly recent development, much more recent than my obsession with the Beatles. I actually really discovered them just last November, over Thanksgiving break. That was when I started looking up sketches from Monty Python’s Flying Circus on Youtube, and also when I saw the movie The Rutles: All You Need Is Cash for the first time. That movie is basically a Monty Python-style parody of the Beatles, through this fictional band called the Rutles. Eric Idle stars as the narrator and as Paul McCartney, another Python regular Micheal Palin makes an appearance as Rutles’ press officer Derek Taylor, and George Harrison himself even appears in disguise as an interviewer! If you like the Beatles, Monty Python, or both, you’ll love this movie!
But a few weeks before that, I saw Monty Python and the Holy Grail for the first time, and before the movie even officially started, I was in tears from laughing so hard. (those of you who have seen the very beginning of that movie probably know what I’m talking about) I don’t think I stopped laughing for the entire movie. It is an hour and a half of comedic genius, and it’s by far the funniest movie I’ve ever seen. I have yet to see the other two Python movies, Life of Brian and The Meaning of Life, but I’m sure they’re just as good.

I also love the show Monty Python’s Flying Circus, and I was thrilled to receive the box set with all the episodes for Christmas! Here are some of my favorite sketches that I’ve seen so far. If I come across any others I like in particular, I’ll make another post.

Yes, this sketch is the origin of the word “spam” being used as a term for incessant useless emails. I swear, if you’re not in stitches by the end of this, you might want to get your pulse checked. It’s just SO ridiculous and funny!

I love how this sketch develops from organized chaos into complete and utter foolishness. The whole thing is just absurdly funny, and after about 3:23 in the video, when Eric Idle goes completely nuts, I can’t stop laughing! Especially when he goes, “It’s the end of the road!”

This is a classic! John Cleese is hilarious in every Python sketch, but I think he’s at his best here. I’ve tried to walk like this on occasion. It hasn’t worked out so well, and I’ve probably done something to my ankle in the process.

All of the Pythons are hilarious in this sketch! Eric’s constant comments about the pointed sticks always crack me up, Graham Chapman’s character’s last name is Harrison, and John Cleese doesn’t stop yelling at the top of his lungs for about 5 minutes. I honestly don’t know how he keeps it up for so long.

I love Eric’s hairstyle here. It’s got a nice wave to it. And, oh yeah, the sketch is hilarious! I swear, every single one of Graham’s lines makes me laugh. He’s probably my second favorite member of Monty Python. And the juxtaposition of the coal miner son with the socialite parents is really clever.

I think this is one of Eric’s best sketches. He gets funnier and funnier as the sketch goes on. By the end, I’m barely listening to the lines because I’m so busy laughing!

I firmly believe that Monty Python is the funniest thing ever created, plain and simple. There is nothing on TV today that can remotely compare to its level of hilarity and wit.

So anyway, as you may have noticed from the videos, I love Eric Idle! He is so funny in every single sketch he’s in, and even if he’s not the featured character, he always steals the show. He does so many characters with tons of different wigs; I don’t know where they even got all of them. He’s got impeccable comedic timing, and best of all, he’s STILL funny! I’ve seen interviews with him from a couple of years ago, and I still laugh at almost everything he says. I also love how he’s always got such a cheerful, happy smile, and actually had long, wavy hair in real life. (which is hard to tell when he’s wearing all the short wigs!) Finally, he and George Harrison were really good friends! Two of my favorite people! Yay for the Beatles and Monty Python!

George Harrison and Eric Idle, two of my favorite people!

George Harrison and Eric Idle, two of my favorite people!

That’s all for now. Look out for a John Lennon solo countdown post and a post about this awesome Youtube musician guy over the weekend!

Leave a Reply

