Notable and Quotable- Beatles Edition

The Beatles, who are surely about to say something clever!

The Beatles, who are surely about to say something clever!

As we all know, in addition to being absolutely fantastic musicians, the Beatles were possibly the funniest band ever. This is of course a matter of opinion, but in MY opinion, no band is as inherantly hilarious as the Beatles! I can’t cite one Beatle interview that doesn’t make me laugh at least once. And it’s not like there was only one funny member of the band; although I think John was the funniest, they were all SO funny and quotable! Since I love what the Beatles say as much as I love what they sing, here I’ve compiled some of my favorite quotes from each of the four Beatles. Some are funny, some are more serious, some are famous, and some are not so well known, but they are all equally fab. You may notice that many of them are by George, and that’s because he said many things that I think are very wise and worth reading. Enjoy!

“Pop music is the classical music of today.” – Paul McCartney, 1968

“I’d like to say thank you on behalf of the group and ourselves and I hope we passed the audition.” – John Lennon, 1969

“We were the Spice Boys.” – George Harrison, probably some time in the 1990s
I just discovered this one while looking for the exact words to another George quote… But this is certainly being filed in my mental archives!

“When you’re drowning, you don’t say, ‘I would be incredibly pleased if someone would have the foresight to notice me drowning and come help me,’ you just scream.” – John Lennon, 1970

“I’m a tidy sort of bloke. I don’t like chaos. I kept records in the record rack, tea in the tea caddy, and pot in the pot box.” – George Harrison, 1969

“I think people who can truly live a life in music are telling the world, ‘You can have my love, you can have my smiles. Forget the bad parts, you don’t need them. Just take the music, the goodness, because it’s the very best, and it’s the part I give most willingly.'” – George Harrison

“When I was five years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down, ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.” – John Lennon

“It’s being here now that’s important. There’s no past and there’s no future. Time is a very misleading thing. All there is ever, is the now. We can gain experience from the past, but we can’t relive it, and we can hope for the future, but we don’t know if there is one.” – George Harrison
This is possibly my favorite quote by anyone, so of course it comes from George!

(in response to being asked, ‘Are you a mod or a rocker?’ in A Hard Day’s Night) “I’m a mocker.” – Ringo Starr, 1964

“I said to [George], sue me if you want, but I’ll always love you.” – Ringo Starr, 1987

“My son looks more like George Harrison than I do.” – George Harrison

“If everyone who had a gun just shot themselves, there wouldn’t be a problem.” – George Harrison
In this day and age, with so much gun violence in America, I think about this quote a lot, and I wonder if it would work. You never know, George might have been on to something.

“Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.” – John Lennon, “Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)”, 1980

“Animation is not just for children- it’s also for adults who take drugs.” – Paul McCartney
I just found this gem from Paul online. I laughed when I saw it and knew I had to include it in this post!

“I love to hear a choir. I love the humanity to see the faces of real people devoting themselves to a piece of music. I like the teamwork. It makes me feel optimistic about the human race when I see them cooperating like that.” – Paul McCartney
My choir teacher has this quote posted on his webpage on the school website. Being a member of my school choir, I really appreciate Paul’s positive assessment of choirs. I hope one day he composes some choral music!

“Sometimes I feel like I’m actually on the wrong planet. It’s great when I’m in my garden, but the minute I go out the gate I think, ‘What the hell am I doing here?'” – George Harrison

“Love one another.” – George Harrison, 2001. His last words. 😦

There are hundreds more worthy quotes from the Beatles, so this is just a little sampling of my favorites. If I compile a bunch more that I like, I’ll do a part two!

Leave a Reply

