Why I started this blog

My inspirations... AND GEORGE IS WEARING THE ORANGE SWEATER!

My inspirations… AND GEORGE IS WEARING THE ORANGE SWEATER!

First off, don’t get this confused with my post about how I got interested in the Beatles, although the reasons for both overlap quite a bit. Instead, this post is about what exactly possessed me to start a Beatle blog, about 11 months after I first became obsessed with them. I have some time today to post, and this is my big idea for the day.
I first got the idea to start a Beatle blog way back in November, on the 11th anniversary of George’s death. I was feeling sad and wished I could somehow express to the world how I felt about George and his passing. Sure, most of my friends love the Beatles, so I could talk to them, but it was a busy school day, so I only had so much time for long, heartfelt, George-related conversations. I then came up with the idea of starting a blog to express my MANY thoughts and opinions about not just George, but the Beatles in general. I emailed some of my friends and asked if they thought it was a good idea and if they would read my blog if I started one. They were all in favor, but I still wasn’t sure if I actually wanted to go ahead and start a blog of my own. I’m not really that new to the blogging world (my friend and I have a baking blog called dessertduo.wordpress.com- check it out!!!) but I didn’t know if I’d have enough to say about the Beatles to actually carry a blog. Also, I was seriously doubting that I had any time in my schedule to blog about the Beatles, because as much as I love them, school does unfortunately come first. And that’s why I’m procrastinating on my paper for Euro by posting this… 🙂

Finally, Christmas break rolled around, and during break, I went to see the Beatle tribute band The Fab Four in concert. It was the best night of my life, and words can’t express how much MORE I loved the Beatles after seeing that concert. I thought I couldn’t love them any more than I already did, but I was wrong. And after having forgotten about the blog idea for a while, I revisited it in my head, and decided to go ahead with it. I promised my mom that I wouldn’t let this blog distract me from my school work, and so far, I think I’ve achieved a nice balance of Beatles and school in my life.

This blog started out as just a Beatle blog, but since then, I’ve realized that I do actually like other things in life besides the Beatles, such as Monty Python, the Mets, and The Big Bang Theory. I’m sorry if I’ve disappointed anyone by not posting ONLY about the Beatles, but they are definitely the one thing that my life revolves almost entirely around, and I have a lot to say about them. This blog is where I vent about various things, like how awful most music is today and how much I want to see Paul in concert, and also where I get to express how much I truly love the Beatles with the rest of the “world”. (I’m being relatively modest and assuming that the large majority of the world does not read this blog…) It’s also a way for me to relax, listen to the Beatles, look at pictures of the Beatles, write about the Beatles, and pretend like I’m blogging. Ta da!

So, about 3 and a half months into this whole blog thing, I think it’s going pretty well. And I can’t wait to continue blogging about my four favorite lads for as long as I have something to say about them, which I hope will be forever.
To close this post, here are various catchphrases from my favorite things in life: Lets Go Mets! Bazinga! Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition!
And finally… THE BEATLES RULE!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

