My Top 10 Favorite Paul McCartney Solo Songs

I love you Paulie!

I love you Paulie!

I’m going to admit right now that I haven’t listened to most of Paul’s solo albums, with and without Wings. That’s because he’s released over 30 albums since the Beatles broke up, and while I love Paul’s music, I just don’t have that kind of time to listen to all of these albums. So, I’m basing this countdown on the 7-8 albums of his that I have listened to, and even with that, I still had so much trouble deciding which songs to include. For all of the flack that Paul sometimes gets for his supposedly subpar solo career, I think he’s written tons of great songs since the Beatles, and I’m happy to share some of my favorites with you! I’ll put the album in parentheses next to the song, except for songs that were singles. Here we go!

10. Ever Present Past (Memory Almost Full)

Yes, this is that video I posted a while ago with Paul dancing! And the song itself is really fantastic. The guitar is thumping throughout and I can’t help but dance to this every time I listen to it. It’s incredible to me that after 50 years in the music business, Paul can still write great songs like this. I can’t wait for his new solo album to come out later this year!

9. My Brave Face (Flowers In The Dirt)

Ever Present Past kind of seems like My Brave Face 2.0 to me. The songs are similar, and they’re both great. I first heard this song and Ever Present Past while listening to Breakfast with the Beatles, and ever since, I’ve been hooked. This song is one of the catchiest songs I’ve ever heard, with the lovely harmonies throughout, and I could listen to it for hours in a row!

8. The Song We Were Singing (Flaming Pie)

This song is supposedly written about Paul’s songwriting partnership with John, and I love how sentimental it is. This shows that Paul can write so much more than silly love songs. He never runs out of ideas.

7. The Pound is Sinking (Tug of War)

This song is just breathtakingly amazing. It combines bits of 3 potentially different songs into one, something Paul has always been great at doing seamlessly. I love the Queenesque vocals starting at 1:53, but when the middle eight kicks in at 2:11… Wow. What an amazing vocal by Paul. In fact, that part of the song might just be my all-time favorite moment of Paul’s solo career. It gets me every time.

6. Live and Let Die

If you’ve seen the James Bond movie with this title, then you know this song. I haven’t actually seen the movie, but I do love the song. It’s just so grand and magnificant, and I love how there’s always fireworks when Paul performs this live. Hopefully they’ll be fireworks when I go see him!

5. Maybe I’m Amazed (McCartney)

I think this is one of Paul’s best love songs. It’s just a really great song. And, it contains one of my favorite guitar solos, played by Paul. I actually first heard this on American Idol a few seasons back, and I’m really glad I did. While James Durbin certainly did the song justice, no one can sing a Paul song like Paul can!

4. Jet (Band on the Run)

This song rocks! It’s got that classic rock and roll Wings sound I love, with rather non-sensical lyrics to which I still can’t figure out the meaning. Oh well, Paul is a master of melody, as I like to say, and that is definitely displayed in this song. One of so many great songs on the Band on the Run album, just like this one…

3. Band on the Run (Band on the Run)

This may be Paul’s best crafted solo song, and although it doesn’t make the #1 spot on my list, it’s very close. I just love how all three parts of the song are weaved together so well. It’s hard for me to explain just how brilliant this song is in words; you really just have to listen to it to appreciate its greatness.

2. Junior’s Farm

This song is paired with probably my 2nd favorite McCartney music video, after Say Say Say. This video isn’t that complicated, and neither is the song. It just shows Paul and his band singing the song, which is why I like it so much. Paul looks really cute in this video, and I can’t be the only who did a double take in the beginning, because Denny Laine looks A LOT like John Lennon in this video! Ah, just like the old days… And, the song rocks!!!

1. Venus and Mars/Rock Show (Venus and Mars)

TECHNICALLY, these are two separate songs, but since they basically merge into each other, I’ll categorize them as one song. Anyway, this song is just AWESOME! It’s got the fast, rock part, the slower, goofy Britishy Paul part, and the cool instrumental outro part. This song opens one of my favorite solo Paul albums, if not my favorite, Venus and Mars. It sets the tone for the whole album, which rocks in a way that really can’t be accurately described. I REALLY hope Paul sings this on June 10th! I’ll be so happy if he does!

Well, there you go! And just like I did for the George and John countdowns, here are some “honorable mention” songs, with the album listed next to them. Definitely check these out as well if you don’t know them!
Silly Love Songs (At The Speed of Sound)
Hope of Deliverance (Off the Ground)
Here Today and Take it Away (Tug of War)
Flaming Pie (Flaming Pie)
No More Lonely Nights
This One (Flowers in the Dirt)
Let Me Roll It and Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five (Band on the Run)
Listen To What The Man Said (Venus and Mars)

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

