George Harrison Interviews

I’ve been meaning to do this post for a while, and I honestly could list every single interview I’ve ever seen with George, because they’re all so great! In all of them, he’s funny and insightful, and always has something interesting to say. It’s funny how his later interviews sometimes contradict or make fun of his earlier ones, as if he’s admonishing his younger self. I’d also like to point out that no matter when the interview is from, George always looks fabulous. 🙂

This is from the Wilbury days, with Tom Petty and Jeff Lynne, from around 1990. I think this is THE most relaxed interview George ever gave. He’s just cracking jokes the whole time, like with the comment about the Wilburys going over Niagara Falls in a barrel on their next tour, and the face he makes while singing She’s My Baby at 0:36 always makes me laugh. Also, the part where they’re all doing the Wilbury Twist is absolutely priceless. He looks so youthful in this interview, and so handsome!!!

I’ll try not to repeat this on every video, but George just looks ridiculously handsome in this interview. It’s almost like his hair is a halo that frames his angelic good looks. But seriously, one of the MANY reasons why I love George is that his voice, even when he’s just talking, is so soothing and calming. I could honestly listen to him talk all day long and I’d feel so at peace with the world. And in this interview, he’s wearing the sweater that I’ve seen him wear in virtually every single picture and video of him from this time. I guess he really liked it!

Even in black and white, he’s Georgeous! And here, he really sounds like he thinks that the idea of Apple is just about the stupidest idea ever; although he doesn’t actually say it, in my opinion, it’s implied. Perhaps John and Paul misfired a bit with that one, but they did put out Hey Jude/Revolution in 1968, the first single released on the Apple label, so it’s not a complete loss!

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve said quotes from this interview at random moments under my breath in the middle of conversations. I guess I’ve watched this clip WAY too many times! I might have actually memorized it at this point. George is being his cute, Beatley self here, which is wonderful, and he seems very talkative, contrary to the “Quiet Beatle” image that was all the rage at the time. The sheepish face he makes when he says, “Sometimes we see private films,” is really cute. Once again, hearing his voice with that adorable Liverpudlian accent is really all I need to have a good day.

This is the clip of George wearing that fabulous outfit I posted here a while ago. Wow. He looks amazing. His hair, his leather jacket, his ruffly shirt, his green pants… Everything is perfect!!!! And I must admit that when he says, “Cue the clap- NOW!” near the end of the video, I always start clapping. It’s an internal moral obligation.

Even though George seems a bit more serious in this interview than in others, the comment he makes about LSD at 6:00 cracks me up, and I love the way he poses for the camera in the beginning. The photographer that day was really lucky; what a beautiful face to photograph! 🙂 The way he talks about John’s death makes me tear up a bit to know that now, both of them are gone, but I’ll always have these interviews to remember him by!

I didn’t realize when I started this post that it would basically morph into a “George is so amazingly good looking!!!!!” post, but then again, if you’ve been following my blog for a while now, and even if you haven’t, you know that most of my posts about George end up like this. Sorry, I can’t help it! To semi-quote one of my favorite Beatles songs, I’m in love with George and I feel fine! 🙂
Have a lovely weekend!

Leave a Reply

