Saturday Night’s Alright For Blogging!

Well, here I am. It’s Saturday, I will be in the presence of Paul McCartney in exactly 9 days, and over the past week, I have fallen in love with yet another legendary male British musician whose career peaked over 30 years ago. And as the title of this post subtly suggests, this person is Elton John!
I must admit, I think I’m a little late to the party with this one. After all, Elton John has been a world famous musician for over 40 years, and just now, almost 16 years into my life, I’m discovering him. Even being a hardcore fan of Beatles music and classic rock in general for well over a year, somehow I’ve never become a fan of his. I’m not suggesting that I’ve been completely oblivious to his music for my whole life; I watched “Elton John week” on American Idol a few years ago, and I’ve vaguely known some of his songs for a while. But that all changed last Monday, when my family and I were driving back from Virginia. My sisters and I were watching an episode of The Muppet Show, of which I am a huge fan, and I was intrigued when I saw that Elton John was one of the guest stars. We ended up watching that episode, and it took me exactly 10 seconds into it to become an Elton John fan.
The first thing I thought when he came on the screen was, “I love his sunglasses!”, and the second thing I thought was, “Hey, he’s the guy who sings ‘Crocodile Rock’!” And after that, as I watched the episode, I realized that he was one of my new favorite people. In this episode, he is cute, funny, and sings and plays piano amazingly. Observe…

So yes, it’s official. I love Elton John and his outrageous outfits, amazingly beautiful voice, and unreal piano playing skills! Not more than I love the Beatles, of course, but he is definitely one of the most talented artists of our time.
And there is a notable connection between Elton and the Beatles! He and John Lennon were good friends in the 1970s, and they co-wrote and sang on “Whatever Gets You Thru The Night” in 1974. They made a deal that if it went to #1, John Lennon would come onstage to perform it with Elton at Madison Square Garden. John hadn’t performed onstage in a while and never thought it would go to #1, so he agreed to it, but it did go to #1, and he came onstage to sing it! Apparently, there was a 10 minute standing ovation for him when he came onstage. I’m not surprised.
I affectionately refer to their friendship as “Elton John Lennon”. 🙂

I’m still trying to decide my favorite Elton John song. It’s tough, because they’re all so good! I’ve listened to a bunch of them, though admittedly not all that many, and I haven’t heard one that I haven’t liked. If I HAD to choose, I’d probably go with Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, Tiny Dancer, or Bennie and the Jets, but even then, I have no idea which would come in first.
One thing that I’ve noticed right away about Elton John’s music is that it’s actually better when he sings it live as opposed to on the record. I’m not saying that the recorded songs aren’t good, but with his amazing voice, everything sounds better in a live format. These next two clips of him are two of my favorites, and feature him singing live on Soul Train. He is such an entertaining, charismatic performer!

I love the funny faces he makes in this video. And his voice is unbelievably good!

He’s bopping and smiling throughout the entire song! I guess even he can’t resist how catchy his songs are!

So yeah, that’s all for now. I think I’ll do a post about great covers of Beatles songs tomorrow. Either that, or my favorite Sheldon Cooper moments on The Big Bang Theory. I guess we’ll have to wait and see… 🙂

One thought on “Saturday Night’s Alright For Blogging!

Leave a Reply

