My “Guilty Pleasure” Songs

I admit, this picture is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine... :)

I admit, this picture is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine… 🙂

Sorry for posting neither Beatle covers nor Sheldon Cooper moments as promised, but I had another idea for a post today. I’m not really sure if these songs qualify as “guilty pleasures” in the traditional sense, but for whatever reason, I feel just the teensiest bit guilty for liking them. I don’t know why, since they don’t really go against my typical music taste, but regardless, here they are! It’s a pretty random assortment of songs, which might represent my inner turmoil and confusion over liking them.

Wonderful Christmastime- Paul McCartney

This is one of those Paul songs that people either love or hate with a burning passion. I personally feel obligated to love it, since it’s Paul, but I do concede that it’s not one of his best songs. Nevertheless, I still cheer when this comes on the radio during the holiday season!

The Bitch is Back- Elton John

This song was banned on several radio stations around the world in the 1970s for the use of the word “bitch,” which I think is a bit of an overreaction. After all, it’s an extremely catchy song, and it actually refers to Elton himself! But for whatever reason, I feel slightly guilty for liking it. Maybe because the word “bitch” is used so many times throughout the song that by the end, it doesn’t even sound like a word. Oh well, I still love the song!

Stronger- Kanye West

Here it is, the one rap song from this century that I actually don’t mind! Normally, I don’t enjoy the rap genre at all, but for some strange reason, I like this song.
This is the first and last time that Kanye will be mentioned on this blog.

Good King Wenceslas- The Fab Four

The only reason that I feel guilty about liking this reworking of the Beatles’ “Tell Me What You See” is because I actually like it better than the original Beatles song. I rarely, if ever, say that about a cover or remix of a Beatles song, but “Tell Me What You See” is the only Beatles song that I just don’t like, and I think that this holiday spin on it is really good. If you’re into the Beatles and you like holiday music, check out the entire Hark! album by The Fab Four (yes, that tribute band I keep blabbing on about).
This is the first and last time that I will say anything negative about a Beatles song on this blog.

Fingertips- They Might Be Giants

This isn’t really a song. It’s more like a collection of approximately 10-second long random song-like tunes that appear on the second half of the album Apollo 18 by They Might Be Giants. My family probably quotes things from this at least once a day, if not more. The best part of this compilation of “songs” is when your iPod is on shuffle, and after listening to a really long, brooding song like “I Want You (She’s So Heavy)” by the Beatles, something random from Fingertips will come on and completely ruin the mood. I find it hilarious when that happens!

The Lumberjack Song- Monty Python

Okay, so I don’t really feel GUILTY for liking this, because it’s a really goofy and funny song! Still, since Monty Python isn’t exactly a musical group, I felt compelled to include it here. I read recently that during one of the live Python shows, George Harrison came onstage in a Canadian Mounty outfit to sing this song. Apparently, almost no one in the audience recognized him. Oh George, always flying under the radar… But not to me!!! 🙂

Notice how there are no Beatles or George Harrison songs in this post. That should be rather telling. I don’t feel guilty at all for liking the Beatles or George, in any situation!!!
That’s all I’ve got for now, but I’m sure that I’ll come up with more “guilty pleasure” songs of mine to include in a future post. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

