What I’ve Learned From The Beatles

No real reason for this picture, I just thought it looked inspiring.

No real reason for this picture, I just thought it looked inspiring.

I know that this is kind of cliché to say, but becoming a Beatle fan has really changed my life. I’ve discovered not only the music from the greatest band of all time, but I’ve also become fans of many, MANY artists that I probably wouldn’t listen to if it were not for the Beatles, like thenewno2, ELO, Elton John, Wings, Eric Clapton, the Traveling Wilburys, and many others. I’ve definitely developed a deep-seeded love affair with classic rock music. I credit the Beatles for showing me how fantastic life can be, and I’ve had many fun Beatley experiences since becoming a fan. The Beatles are not only my favorite band, they are also kind of like my life coaches. They have indirectly taught me many things about life through their music and their experiences, and I am so grateful to them for (hopefully) making me a better person. Here are some general life lessons that I’ve learned from the Beatles:

– Enjoy life, because it’s very short, and there’s no time for fussing and fighting, my friends.
Although I did partially quote that line from “We Can Work It Out,” in all seriousness, being a Beatles fan has made me realize how important it is to enjoy things while you have them. Also, I feel like this year for me has absolutely flown by, and I’m amazed at how time really does fly. I always try to live in the moment and not in anticipation of the next day, which I think helps me enjoy things more.

– There is always more room in your heart to love.
Just when I think that I’ve discovered all of the good music in the world, I always fall in love with some other fantastic artist. My personal list of “favorite people” that mostly includes British musicians, Beatle impersonators, and some actors has grown quite a lot in the past year, which shows me that you’re never really “done” finding out how amazing people are. I’m sure I could state this much more eloquently, but basically, the amount of awesomeness and awesome people in life never runs out.

– Appreciate your family and friends who love and care about you.
Not that I didn’t love these people before, but I’m saying that I never truly realized how important family and friends are until I became a Beatles fan. For whatever reason, loving their music has caused me to love people more, if that makes any sense.

– Don’t be afraid to speak your mind and say what you feel, because it does matter and can make a difference.
I’ve always considered myself a pretty opinionated person, and I’m rarely indifferent about something. That being said, hearing what the Beatles had to say in their songs made me realize that they weren’t afraid of writing about something that was important to them, like speaking out against the Vietnam War in “Revolution” and against British taxes in “Taxman,” and I shouldn’t hide things that matter to me from other people.

– Music can heal just about everything.
Whether you like the Beatles or not, you have to agree that this is pretty much true. Music has an amazing power to bring people together and adds a certain happiness to life that can’t be found anywhere else. The amount of times that listening to the Beatles has made me feel better about life convinces me that their music, above all others, truly heals the soul.

– Always have a positive outlook on life.
The Beatles once sang, “It’s getting better all the time.” I believe that being positive about life is the only way to go if you want to be happy, and while I’m not blindly optimistic, I do try to see the sunny side to every situation. This also ties in to a famous Monty Python saying, “Always look on the bright side of life!”

– Never be complacent or satisfied with how things are, and always look to progress to the next level of something.
The Beatles definitely lived by this statement in the 60s, because even when they were at the top of the charts and the most famous band in the world by 1964, they didn’t just rest on their laurels and settle into a period of making mediocre music because they could. They always wanted to be innovative, creative, and further refine their craft, which led them to make such masterpieces as Rubber Soul, Revolver, Sgt. Pepper, and basically everything else they did after 1965. I greatly admire them for always wanting to take things to the next level, and I apply this to always pushing myself to do better in school and be the best that I can be.

– It’s okay to change as a person over time, because that’s what life is all about.
This is an almost-direct quote from George, and I look up to him in particular for accepting that change is a good thing. George knew that life was all about becoming a better person, and I only wish that I was as receptive to changes in myself.

– If you really want something, you’ll have to work hard to achieve it.
Many people don’t realize that the Beatles were not an overnight sensation. They weren’t an amateur band who was discovered on Youtube and became famous. No, they played for years in many different venues in Liverpool and Hamburg, becoming a fantastic band in the process. They were flat-out rejected at their first audition for a record company. The Beatles fully embodied the idea that hard work and dedication is what will get you far in life, and I hope that this will be true for me going forward.

As you can see, I’ve learned quite a lot from the Beatles. They are my ultimate inspirations in life. These things I’ve posted are words that anyone can live by, and I think that as long as I continue to be inspired by the Beatles, things will work out okay for me.

I’ll try to do a “Paul preview” post either tomorrow or Monday, because as the countdown next to this post states, there are only 2 days left until I see Paul McCartney in concert!!!! The day is fast approaching!!!!

One thought on “What I’ve Learned From The Beatles

Leave a Reply

