John vs. John: The Ultimate Showdown

John Lennon

John Lennon

John, Elton

John, Elton

Yes, I’ve decided to do another “Ultimate Showdown” post! This one features two of my all-time favorite singers, John Lennon and Elton John. Since this showdown doesn’t involve George Harrison, I think it will be a pretty close matchup, and I can’t wait to compare these two awesome guys in multiple categories! As before, the categories I will be comparing them in are as follows: sense of humor, acting ability, singing ability, overall charm, sense of style, looks, and personality. Here we go!

Sense of humor: I see already that this will be a VERY tight race! On one hand, I think Elton is a really funny guy, and he must have a good sense of humor to have worn all those crazy outfits back in the 70s and 80s! In interviews of him that I’ve seen, he is never afraid to say something in a funny voice or make a joke, and I love that! On the other hand, I consider John Lennon to be the funniest Beatle. His dry, sarcastic, witty sense of humor really resonates with me, and his funny dances and faces that he did onstage and off with the Beatles always crack me up. This is tough, but I’m going to give this round to John. Lennon, that is.
John Lennon: 1
Elton John: 0

Acting ability: Once again, these two are pretty evenly matched in this category. Both of them have had featured roles in movies, Elton as the Pinball Wizard in “Tommy” and John as Private Gripweed in “How I Won The War” and himself in the Beatle movies. I haven’t actually seen How I Won The War, although I plan on watching it eventually, but I have seen Tommy, and I have to say that Elton was fantastic in his one scene in the movie. But, since I don’t think I have enough to judge them both fairly on in this category, I’m calling it a draw.
John Lennon: 2
Elton John: 1

Singing ability: John and Elton’s singing voices and styles are very different, which makes this a tough call. I really love John’s awesome rocking vocals from the early Beatle days on songs like “Rock and Roll Music”, as well as his softer vocals on songs like “Julia”. He certainly had a very versatile voice and his singing was extremely honest and heartfelt. However, on vocal ability alone, I think Elton edges him out. Although he still sounds great, before he had the vocal surgery in the 80s, Elton had the voice of an angel. I love watching videos of him from the 70s when he was hitting all of the high notes with ease and clarity, and I think he’ll go down as one of the greatest singers of all time. For that reason, he wins this category.
John Lennon: 2
Elton John: 2

Overall charm: I love John Lennon, but when I think of him, “charming” isn’t the first word that comes to mind. He was funny, witty, insightful, passionate, goofy, and definitely sexy. But charming? I’m not sure. So, Elton wins this category by default, although I do think that as a 23 year old on the verge of superstardom back in 1970-1971, he was quite the charmer.
John Lennon: 2
Elton John: 3

Sense of style: This is the least close out of all the categories. Why? Because nobody challenges Elton John’s outrageously fabulous sense of style. Nobody.
John Lennon: 2
Elton John: 4

Looks: I have a pretty good idea of this one as well. While I don’t think that John Lennon was the most attractive Beatle, I do think that with a moptop back in the mid-60s, he was really cute, especially in 1966. But, he loses the appeal for me somewhat with the long haired, bearded, glasses-clad look he sported throughout the 70s. However, while his looks have definitely faded a bit over time, I think that Elton in his prime was better looking. Still, it could really go either way.
John Lennon: 2
Elton John: 5
By the way, if you have any doubts about Elton John’s attractiveness, watch this video. He is gorgeous in this!

Personality: While I love both John and Elton’s personalities, I think that John wins this one. He is one of those people that everyone is fascinated by, and he was such a complicated and at times misunderstood man. He is one of those people that I want to learn as much as I can about because he’s so cool and interesting. I’m not saying that Elton isn’t an interesting guy, but I’m just slightly more curious about John as a person than him, and that’s why John wins this category.

The Final Tally:
John Lennon: 3
Elton John: 5

Yay Elton! You truly are Captain Fantastic to me!

Yay Elton! You truly are Captain Fantastic to me!

There you have it. This was a pretty even matchup, but Elton beat out John in the end. I may give John another chance in a future matchup with Ringo, but for now, Elton is the winner!
I hope you enjoyed this post! Have a wonderful week!

3 thoughts on “John vs. John: The Ultimate Showdown

    • Thanks! It was really quite a toss-up between these two in my mind. I love them both and I didn’t like the idea of a Beatle losing anything. Still, I’m happy with the results. Stay tuned for Eric Idle vs. Paul McCartney, coming soon…

Leave a Reply

