The Liverpool Shuffle

The band members from left to right: Joe Refano, Pete Bross, Mike Green, Mike Ponella

The band members from left to right: Joe Refano, Pete Bross, Mike Green, Mike Ponella

Despite what the title of this post implies, this post is NOT about a new dance craze called the Liverpool Shuffle! No, it instead refers to a Beatle tribute band my friend and I saw the other night. I only found out about the concert via the newspaper a couple of days before, and I had never heard of these guys so I was a little skeptical. But they totally proved me wrong and far exceeded my expectations! They were fantastic!

By now, after having seen a number of Beatle tribute bands in the past year, not to mention seeing a Beatle himself, I’ve learned that the band doesn’t necessarily have to look or talk like the Beatles to be a success in my mind. Of course, that’s always preferred, but as long as they sing well, remain faithful to the music, and are entertaining, I can have a good time. Because let’s face it, the Beatles’ music speaks for itself. Anyway, despite knowing absolutely nothing about this band other than the fact that they were coming to my town last Friday, I decided to give them a try. Since they’re not exactly world-renowned, I expected them to be good, but not blow my socks off. However, the show they gave lasted 2 hours and was probably the most fun thing I’ve done since seeing Paul McCartney! All of the band members did a great job, but one guy in particular, playing bass and singing most of the Paul songs, was just amazing. His name is Mike Green and he has an outstanding voice, and was by far the most entertaining member of the group. I definitely think that this band will become one of the more well-known Beatle tribute bands in the near future. Spread the word!

Here are a couple of videos of them performing at various places, but these don’t really do the band justice. They sounded absolutely fantastic live!

The crowd at the show definitely skewed older, as I expected, but everyone was dancing the whole time and it was just a really fun event. There is honestly nothing I’d rather be doing on a Friday night than dancing to Beatles music, and this fulfilled that desire perfectly! I’m so glad I gave them a try, and if they ever come to a venue near you, make sure you stop by and see them! You will not be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

