Rambling Georgeish Tuesday Post. Be prepared.

A beautiful, inspiring picture of Georgie to start the post!

A beautiful, inspiring picture of Georgie to start the post!

So I knew I wanted to blog today, but I wasn’t sure about what. To be honest, I’m still not sure, but I feel like I have to get something off my chest, so I’ll see where this post takes me. Anyway, this afternoon I found myself watching my new George Harrison: Living In The Material World DVD that I got for my birthday. (thanks Mom and Dad!) I know I’ve discussed this movie before, but I must reiterate that stumbling upon it on TV a couple of years ago was truly a turning point in my Beatles/George Harrison fandom and life in general. I was looking up Beatle programming on the ever-so-reliable Optimum app, and this movie came up. I had never heard of it, but I decided to give it a try, given that I knew next to nothing about George Harrison at that point. I started watching the movie partway through the second half, and immediately I was transfixed with this incredible and absolutely fascinating person named George Harrison. This was where I really became a permanent George fan.

There are so many reasons why I love this movie, and I’m not going to list all of them here. But I have to say that throughout the film, George offers many interesting anecdotes about his life and shares so much of what he believes in and why he believes in it. I admire George partly because he had such defined beliefs and interests that he wasn’t hesitant to share with people, and watching this movie was just part of the major turning point in my life that I now consider becoming a Beatlemaniac to be.

To be completely honest, I don’t really remember what I was like as a person before I discovered the Beatles. This may sound ridiculous because they only became part of my life a couple of years ago, but it’s the total truth. I guess I was nice enough, but I don’t recall ever actually taking notice of things in life or really appreciating things like music and relationships with family and friends. I think I just sort of bumbled along indifferently for about 13 years.

And then once I discovered the incredible world of the Beatles, that really seemed to open up my mind to everything about life and the people in my life. I’ve become much more curious about people and things in general, and learning all about who the Beatles were has in a way helped me discover who I am as a person. I feel like I notice everything now, which isn’t always a good thing, but I do like being aware of what’s going on in the world. Every time I watch Living In The Material World, I fall in love with George more, but I also understand him more. He just seems like this incredible being that had it all figured out and was one giant leap ahead of everyone else in the quest to discover why mankind was put on this earth. He had so much love to give, and everything he says through his words and his music makes sense to me.

Perhaps not everybody really gets George as a person, but I’m sure that those who do understand how special he was and how much he brought to this world. This shows in the movie when his close friends like Ringo, Paul, Eric Idle, Jackie Stewart, and Eric Clapton all get so emotional when they talk about him, and openly admit that they feel more emotional thinking about him than about anyone else.
I can’t even imagine what it would be like for me if he was still alive, but then again, if he hadn’t yet died, this documentary probably wouldn’t have been made and I wouldn’t know as much about him, so there is somewhat of an equal tradeoff.

Wow, I had no idea where that was going. But I think it’s time to bring this ramble to an end. Sorry if this is too philosophical for a sunny Tuesday afternoon in September, but I can honestly say that I love and appreciate everything so much more now than I did before I discovered George and the Beatles. I’m interested in so many things now that have nothing to do with the Beatles, but that I care about because of the Beatles. They have truly opened me up to how amazing life can be, and I will always be grateful to them for that.

And now it’s really time to end this post! Watch Living In The Material World if you can! It may or may not change your life! Enjoy the rest of the week!

2 thoughts on “Rambling Georgeish Tuesday Post. Be prepared.

Leave a Reply

