HAPPY (belated) BIRTHDAY JOHN LENNON!!!!!!!!!

What a cute picture. I love you John!!!

What a cute picture. I love you John!!!

I realized today that I did not do a birthday post for John, since his birthday fell in the middle of the week this year. Still, better late than never, I always say! So today I’m wishing a very happy birthday to a man who would have been 73 this year and still is an inspiration to us all, John Lennon! Happy birthday John!!!

When I think about John, the first thing that comes to mind is how much the world today needs him. I wasn’t around when he was alive, but from what I’ve read and watched, he was a musical and emotional leader for an entire generation of people in the 60s and 70s. So many musicians I love have been inspired by and idolized him, including Elton John, Robyn Hitchcock, David Bowie, and many others. I feel like John is the one songwriter that almost all musicians can relate to and aspire to be like. His music is so honest, beautiful, and straight from the heart, and there is a certain Lennon-esque quality that I feel like is missing from most music today. I subscribe to the theory that music started to go south in quality after John was killed, because such a big musical icon was no longer around to set the example for the next generation of artists.

But this post is about celebrating John’s life, not mourning his death, and celebrate I shall! One thing I really like about John in particular out of the four Beatles is his witty, sharp, clever sense of humor. He was never at a loss for words, had so much to say, and always had a wry comeback or a funny joke to add to every interview. Take this video for example:

Of course, George is absolutely charming at the end of the video, but that’s besides the point. John just looks so uninterested in what this Swedish interviewer is asking that it cracks me up from the very beginning of the video. He is hilarious!

This next video is my absolute favorite clip from the movie “A Hard Day’s Night”. 47 seconds of awesomeness, capped off by what I think is the funniest line in the entire film.

Obviously this was scripted since it’s in a movie, but John’s delivery of that line in such a silly voice makes me laugh every single time!

I often wonder what John would be up to if he were still alive today. Would he still be an active presence in show business and be making new albums regularly, like Paul? Would he be touring the world with a rock supergroup, like Ringo? Would he have retired from the spotlight and decided to focus on other things, like George did for a while? I really don’t know. What would John think of the world today? Would he use social media like Facebook and Twitter? I have no idea. But I am certain that the world would be a better place with John in it.
Still, I have a feeling that people will still have the same reverence for John Lennon in 100 years as they do now. He is such an iconic figure that I don’t think will ever be forgotten. I certainly will never forget him!

To close out this birthday post, here’s John’s plea for peace, love, and happiness. We’re not there yet, John, but we’re working on it!

Once again, happy birthday to the amazing and wonderful John Lennon! You inspire me every day! I LOVE YOU!!!!! šŸ™‚

One thought on “HAPPY (belated) BIRTHDAY JOHN LENNON!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

