In my life… I love John more.

An inspiring picture of an inspiring man

An inspiring picture of an inspiring man

So, although it’s a bit late in the day, I figured that it’s not too late to do a short tribute to John Lennon in honor of the 33rd anniversary of his death. Today, 33 years ago, John was shot in front of the Dakota in NYC by Mark David Chapman, a deranged fan. It was an unjustified act of pure insanity. The world mourned then, and today, the world still mourns the loss of John.

Here are a few fantastic tribute songs to John by three of my favorite artists: George Harrison, Elton John, and Paul McCartney. They are all different, but each one is a moving tribute in its own right. Enjoy!

George Harrison- All Those Years Ago

This is a rather upbeat tribute song for John, and I like that. Typical of George to make light of a sad situation with a wistful, nostalgic, yet happy song.

Elton John- Empty Garden (Hey, Hey, Johnny)

This is so incredibly sad, with such beautiful lyrics, that I can’t help but cry a little when I hear it. Well done Elton and Bernie.

Paul McCartney- Here Today

This is possibly the most poignant tribute of them all. It always brings a tear to my eye, especially when I saw Paul perform it live.

I said a lot about John on my birthday post for him a couple of months ago, so I won’t say too much more, but I hope you take a moment today if you have not yet done so to think about what effect John Lennon has had on your life. I’m sure he means something different to everyone, but he is definitely an inspiration to us all. RIP John. All you were saying was to give peace a chance, and though all the people aren’t yet living life in peace, we’re getting closer every day because of you. I love you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

