Better late than never… The Elton John concert!!!!

Don't worry, I didn't forget about this awesome concert I went to!!!

Don’t worry, I didn’t forget about this awesome concert I went to!!!

Well, after all of my excitement leading up the Elton John concert I attended last week, I can’t believe I haven’t blogged about it! I’m sorry for the delay, and I will now proceed to describe the event in great detail! But in short, it was AMAZING!!!!!!

Having never been to a concert at Madison Square Garden before, I was not quite sure what to expect, but as soon as my mom and I sat in our seats, observed the massive stage below us, and heard tracks from The Diving Board being played over the speaker system, I knew we were in for a great show. Unlike at the Paul McCartney concert, there actually was an opening act for this show, but it was a group comprised of two of Elton’s cello players called 2CELLOS. They were fantastic, but my heart truly started pounding with excitement once the opening chords to “Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding” began blaring throughout the arena. Hearing that in near darkness was truly a magical way to start the concert, and once Elton strode onstage in his fabulous “Madman Across The Water” jacket and started playing piano and singing, I was in mid-70s musical heaven.

There were so many memorable moments from the show, but the one thing that stands out most in my mind is the fact that Elton exceeded my expectations in all respects. Even after constant touring and performing this fall, he sounded absolutely fantastic, with no missed notes in any of the songs. His piano playing was even more masterful than I expected, and I can say with complete certainty that my mouth dropped more than once in awe at his melodic improvisations. Elton John is just awesome in every way!

So what song was I most excited to hear him play? Bennie and the Jets definitely rocked, and hearing my #1 favorite Elton song Someone Saved My Life Tonight was wonderful. However, I think I would have to give the “favorite song” title a tie between Rocket Man, All The Girls Love Alice, I’m Still Standing, Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters, and The One. But I think my #1 favorite moment of the concert was when he was introducing his band members and commented on how cute the 2CELLOS cello players were. That had the audience in stiches!

Here’s a video I found of Elton performing The One from December 4th, but the video doesn’t really do him justice. This was an absolute showstopper live. It was so quiet in the audience that you could have heard a pin drop.

And here’s Elton performing everyone’s perennial favorite, Your Song! I just recently learned how to play this on the piano, and I thought I was doing okay, but this is clearly how the song is meant to be performed.

How would I compare my experience at the Elton John concert versus my experience at the Paul McCartney concert? The actual quality of the musical performances was about the same for both shows, which I expected because obviously Paul and Elton are complete masters at what they do. I would probably give the edge in the “fun” factor to the Paul McCartney concert, only because I was sitting a lot closer to the stage for that concert and was basically dancing the whole time. At the Elton concert, where we were higher up, practically nobody was dancing at all in my section. Not even during the encore, Crocodile Rock! By the time Elton started playing The Bitch Is Back, I honestly stopped caring what people around me thought and stood up for a bit.
Also, I think Paul has the edge because he did tell me he loved me during the concert. That was a lovely moment that can never be recreated by anyone else. 🙂

But in the grand scheme of things, seeing Elton John in concert is an amazing experience that should be on everyone’s bucket list and that just about equals anything else I’ve done. If you enjoy live performances, you will love seeing him live!!! Elton John, after all this time, is definitely STILL the Rocket Man!!!

Leave a Reply

