Christmas Time Is Here Again! Part 1

Wouldn't you like to wake up on Christmas and find George under your tree? I know I would!

Wouldn’t you like to wake up on Christmas and find George under your tree? I know I would!

Well folks, it’s that time of year again. The time when families gather around the Christmas tree, sip cocoa, and listen to the Beatles. Okay, so that last part might not actually be true, but in my head, that’s what an ideal holiday should be! Anyway, I’ve decided to list today a few of my favorite rock Christmas songs. Some of them are Beatle-related, some of them aren’t, but all are festive and fun! Since I have a bunch of songs that I’d like to include, I’ll split this into 2 parts. Enjoy!

The Beatles- Christmas Time is Here Again

So this song probably didn’t take them long to write… But I do like it! And if you’ve been listening to Paul’s “New” album, particularly “Queenie Eye,” then you may notice that the lyric “O-U-T spells out” is repeated in both songs! Just a little Beatley factoid for you. 🙂

John Lennon- Happy Xmas (War Is Over)

This song is so peaceful, heartfelt, and utterly John. It brings a smile to my face every time I hear it. Maybe one of these Christmases, war will finally be over.

Paul McCartney- Wonderful Christmastime

This is definitely the Christmas song that everyone loves to hate because, I admit, it’s kind of annoying. But honestly, it’s Paul, and I feel obligated to love it, so I do! It is quite catchy!

George Harrison- Ding Dong Ding Dong

This is more of a New Year’s song than a Christmas song, but it’s holiday-themed, so why not include it here? And it’s George!!!

The Fleshtones- Hurray For Santa Claus

This album is on constantly in my house during the holidays. It’s a wonderful, fun, Christmasy rock album that includes a cover of Chuck Berry’s “Run Rudolph Run,” although most of the songs are originals. They’re kind of weird and wacky, but then again, so is the Christmas season!

And now, although it isn’t Beatle-related, or even Elton John-related, here is my #1 favorite Christmas rock song:

The Kinks- Father Christmas

This is a classic, and with good reason, because it’s a great song! I just love the cheerful intro, and the whole song is awesome. This definitely eclipses all other rock Christmas songs, in my opinion. But you may disagree, and that’s okay too!

I’ll do a Part 2 to this post in a day or so, so look out for some Elton John Christmas songs, as well as more Beatle-related Christmas songs, coming your way! Have a lovely weekend! Happy winter solstice! Although it’s in the 50s in New York, so it actually feels more like the spring equinox here. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Christmas Time Is Here Again! Part 1

Leave a Reply

