Beatles Song of the Week: “Martha My Dear”

A cute pic of Paul. He's so adorable.

A cute pic of Paul. He’s so adorable.

So I’m going to try this little segment called “Beatles Song of the Week” when I honestly don’t know what to post, like today. But I also really like this song, and I wanted to share it with all of you!

Paul supposedly wrote this song about his sheepdog Martha, which is one of the cutest things I’ve ever heard. 🙂
If I decide to do another “Top 10 Underrated Beatles Songs” list, which I might do because there are so many, this song will definitely make the list. Amidst all of the fantastic songs on the White Album like “Blackbird” and “While My Guitar Gently Weeps,” this little ditty by Paul tends to get overlooked, which is a shame because it’s really a fantastic song. Like many of Paul’s best songs, it has a jaunty piano part that I’m sure is harder to play than it sounds, and I also like that it combines a lot of different moods and sounds into one short 2:30 minute song. I can definitely hear Paul’s childhood music hall influences come out in this song, as well as in others like “Honey Pie” and “Lady Madonna,” both of which have upbeat, lively piano parts like this one.

This song is extremely catchy and is likely to get stuck in your head for days once you hear it. It’s definitely a hidden gem in the Beatles’ massive catalog, but it deserves its fair share of attention because it’s such a good song! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

