Beatles Song Of The Week: “I Want To Hold Your Hand”

So, I didn’t end up having time today to do my top 10 solo Beatles albums, but seeing as this week is going to be a HUGE week in Beatleland, I thought I’d kick it off by posting the song that basically started Beatlemania in America.

This song was #1 when the Beatles arrived in America on February 7th, 1964, and since then it’s been a perennial favorite among critics and Beatle fans alike. While it’s not my favorite early Beatles song, I do concede that it is a fantastic and surprisingly intricate song. The opening guitar riff is great and the harmonies between Paul and John are just brilliant. As with many Beatles songs, there’s a lot more going on than meets the ear. I also love how innocent this song is in reality; I mean, how many songs about love today would end with just handholding??? You know what I mean! 🙂
So, enjoy this song, enjoy the Beatles, and enjoy the week! I’m not exactly sure what I’ll be posting next weekend, but I guarantee that it will be fab!

Leave a Reply

