Meet the Smithereens!

Meet the Smithereens

Meet the Smithereens

As you have probably gathered, I love watching musicians performing Beatles songs. Whether it’s Paul McCartney himself, a group of relatively young guys dressed as the Beatles, or a group of relatively old guys not dressed as the Beatles, I get a huge thrill out of seeing anyone playing Beatles songs with a live band. And who wouldn’t? The music speaks for itself!

Last night I had the pleasure of attending a Smithereens concert with my parents entitled “Meet the Smithereens!” after the Beatles’ first American album, “Meet the Beatles!”. The Smithereens, if you haven’t heard of them, are a rock band that was most commercially successful in the late 1980s and early 1990s, but they’ve been releasing music and performing consistently ever since. It’s no secret that they are huge fans of the Beatles; they’ve released three full Beatles tribute albums, and even their original music is what I’d call “Beatlesque with an edge”. So when I heard about this show that was taking place right in my town, I was really excited!!!

By now, I’m used to being just about the youngest person in attendance at most concerts, and though last night was no exception, it was still a really fun and Beatley evening. The Smithereens interspersed their own songs with a lot of well-known and not-so well-known Beatles songs (I was pleasantly surprised to hear them play “I’m a Loser” and “It’s Only Love”!) and also anecdotes about their childhood introduction to the Beatles way back in 1964. They played for about 2 hours and 20 minutes straight, Paul McCartney-style with no breaks or intermission. They really gave the audience their money’s worth! I was not that familiar with the Smithereens’ music before the concert, but now I can say that I am a true fan. They rock!

Ironically, I think my favorite part of the concert was when they played two non Beatles/Smithereens songs, just because it was so unexpected. In the middle of one of their biggest hits, “A Girl Like You,” they segued into “Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door” by Bob Dylan. Now, I’m not a huge Dylan fan, but I absolutely love this song, and I was thrilled to hear it live! THEN, right after that song, they played “Behind Blue Eyes,” which is my #1 favorite song by the Who! Two unexpected performances in a row! Still, the Beatles/Smithereens songs they played were all awesome. From the Beatles’ “A Hard Day’s Night” to the Smithereens’ “Behind the Wall of Sleep” and everything in between, this concert was absolutely fab.

While writing this, I just realized that I’ve seen a Beatles tribute concert in each of the last three months. Hopefully something will come up in April as well! 🙂
If the Smithereens come to a town near you, and especially if they are playing this Beatles tribute show, do not miss this chance to be thoroughly entertained. They rock, the Beatles rock, and live music in general is always better. But you knew that already. 🙂

Have a fantastic week!

Leave a Reply

