Song of the Week: “Come As You Are” (Nirvana)

With the 20th anniversary of Kurt Cobain’s death this week, I’ve been listening to this song a lot recently. I wouldn’t consider myself a huge Nirvana fan, but I do like their music a lot, especially this song. I was inspired to do this post after my dad showed me the Beatles take off-video that Nirvana did for their song “In Bloom” in 1992. What he also said that I didn’t realize was that Nirvana’s immediate impact on radio and music in general was basically equivalent to the Beatles’ musical impact in America in 1964. I do know that Kurt Cobain idolized the Beatles, John Lennon in particular, and his melodies definitely reflect that Beatley influence.
There we are for this week. I’ll definitely do a longer post next week, since it will be spring break and all. (!!!) My, how this year has flown by. It’s hard to believe that my junior year is already almost over. But I digress… 🙂
Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

