Happy mother’s day from the Beatles!

The Beatles and their mothers

The Beatles and their mothers

I know my last few posts have been song-based, but since Mother’s Day is tomorrow, I’ve decided to dedicate a post to songs written by the Beatles about mothers. There are quite a few of them. So tomorrow, celebrate mothers everywhere while listening to the Beatles. It can only make the day better, right? Right. 🙂

Mother- John Lennon

John once said that he lost his mother twice in his life, once when she left him to be raised by his Aunt Mimi and once when she was killed by an oncoming car. So clearly he had some things he never said to his mother that he wanted to get out in this song. The emotion John brings to this song is absolutely incredible.

Julia- The Beatles

Yes, this is a Beatles song, but it’s also the only Beatles song that features only John, so really it’s more of a solo John song. This is I think one of John’s most poignant and beautiful songs ever, written about his mother, Julia. It’s a regular on my “relaxing Beatles songs” playlist, and in my heart. 🙂

Let It Be- The Beatles

A popular misconception is that this song is religious because it mentions “Mother Mary”. However, Paul actually wrote this about a dream he had in which his mother, whose name was Mary, gave him advice. Poor Paul lost his mother when he was 14, but clearly she was still a presence in his life even after her passing. I wonder if he still thinks of her whenever he sings this song. It’s such a perfect song about learning to let go, but I bet it still carries some emotional weight for him.

Deep Blue- George Harrison

George wrote this in about 1970 about his mother while she was severely ill. What a sweetheart he was.
I just realized that this list has been very sad so far, and I’m sorry. I will be sure to rectify that with the next song!

Your Mother Should Know- The Beatles

Here we go, a much happier song! This isn’t explicitly about any of the Beatles’ mothers, but it does have the word “mother” in the title, so I thought that was good enough. Also, this video makes me very happy. I’m just so happy this exists.

That’s all for now. Remember to tell your mom how much you love her, tomorrow and every other day of the year!
Happy Mother’s Day Mom. I love the Beatles, but I love you more. 🙂
Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

