A Hard Day’s Poll

As many of you may know, this year marks the 50th anniversary of the Beatles’ arrival in America. It also marks 50 years since the release of their first movie, A Hard Day’s Night. To commemorate this, about 500 theaters across the US are re-releasing A Hard Day’s Night this July! Although I own the movie on DVD, I still sort of want to experience it in a actual theater. If only the movies would charge 1964 prices for this special event… šŸ™‚

After reading an article about this in the newspaper today, which included an original review of the movie from 1964 (the reviewer back then apparently did not know George’s name…), I was inspired to break out my DVD and watch this movie, yet again. I’ve probably seen it about six times in its entirety by now, and I found myself reciting a lot of the lines under my breath, in attempted Scouse accents. I love how fast paced this movie is, which shows how crazy and hectic the Beatles’ actual life was back then. In fact, this movie plays more like a documentary than a traditional movie.

Just as a side note, a couple of famous teenage extras in this movie include Phil Collins and Meryl Streep. How awesome it would have been to be an extra in this film! That would surely be a story to tell the grandkids. Also, considering that this movie was made to capitalize on the Beatles’ fame at the height of Beatlemania, I don’t think the screaming girls throughout the movie were really acting… šŸ™‚

Anyway, with this movie in mind, I’ve created a poll devoted to the Beatle movies. Personally, I would probably vote for both Help! and A Hard Day’s Night as my favorites, but I’d love to see how others vote. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “A Hard Day’s Poll

  1. As fresh and groundbreaking as it was in 1964, I don’t personally think Hard Day’s Night has aged well as a movie. It didn’t help that so many other directors immediately started doing “the Richard Lester thing”. You can see it all through 60s TV shows like The Monkees, and Batman. And many, many music videos since have included “homages” (unpaid copying) based on scenes in A Hard Day’s Night.

    Part of the problem is that The Beatles’ music is so much more powerful in its original form than it is as “movie music”. Those songs still have the ability to transport listeners into other places and create moods and memories, but watching them, as opposed to listening, singing and learning to play them is just too passive.

    That’s why my favorite Beatle movie is the one they had the least actual involvement in – Yellow Submarine. It contains more of their best songs than the other films, along with all that beautiful, trippy animation and a plot worthy of a children’s lit classic. It’s even satisfying to watch it in small bits, unlike the other titles. Help is also a lot of fun, and a pretty good satire of the spy movies popular at that time, but it’s ultimately less imaginative.

  2. Hey again,
    That sounds good about the 50th anniversary for The Beatles’ second trip to America! For the past month (as you will have gathered from reading my blog), it’s been Beatlesville here in Australia, so it’s your turn again!
    Oh, and did I ever mention that you are currently one of the luckiest people on Earth? You lucky-duck – you get to see AHDN on the big screen! It’s only being released on BluRay here, so I’m envious – you’ll have to tell me all about it! I currently do not own AHDN, but I preordered my British BluRay, and it’s coming in a month (yay)!
    Just a few questions…
    What’s your favourite part in ‘George Harrison: Living In The Material World’, if you have one? It was screened in two parts on TV last December, so I watched it then, but I’m currently trying to source it on DVD. I’ll never forget what George said to that journalist when asked, “John was no angel, was he?” after his death. I think I cried a little.
    Oh, and did you really visit the Dakota Building? You lucky-duck (again) – I really want to go and pay my respects to Johnny, but I think I’d be sobbing hysterically the entire time!
    One more thing…what do you think of my blog? You got a favourite post? Any ideas – always looking for them!
    Sorry – I have a tendency to ramble, but I hope that wasn’t too long! Love tangerinetrees99 šŸ™‚

    • Well, I’m not sure exactly what theaters AHDN is playing in, but I’m hopeful that there will be one near me!
      It’s hard to choose a favorite part of GH: LITMW, but I think I’d have to say the scene where Dhani is talking about George and there’s the clip of them in the studio where Dhani, out of nowhere, gives George a big hug. It makes me tear up every time I see it. I just love the Harrison family. šŸ™‚
      I have walked outside the Dakota before, and it felt weird, like I was intruding on some sacred, hallowed grounds. I was a little misty-eyed, I must admit.
      I love your blog! The “You Know You’re a Beatlemaniac” post you just did is great! (and way longer than most of mine… I’ll have to work on that!)

Leave a Reply

