Random Songs I’ve Been Obsessed With Recently- Part 2

So today I thought I’d compile a list of songs that I’ve been enjoying a lot recently. I’d recommend them all to any music lover! Here we go!

Come With Me Now- KONGOS

I heard this song on the radio in Montauk a couple of weeks ago, and I was hooked immediately. A few days later, I downloaded it, and I’ve been listening to it on repeat ever since. I honestly don’t think I’ve heard a song as awesome as this on mainstream pop radio in years. Probably not since “Pumped Up Kicks,” which was what? 4 years ago? Anyway, it’s refreshing to hear an actual guitar solo on the radio. I sort of thought those had gone to the grave, along with cassette tapes, B-sides, and other things generally existent before I was born.
Anyway, I can’t wait to hear more from this band, who I believe is currently opening for Kings of Leon. I hope this song becomes a huge hit and gets lots of accolades. It’s just that good.

Dirty Work- Steely Dan

As if I didn’t love Jim Parsons enough, I saw on a blog I’m subscribed to that he posted a clip of this song on Instagram recently. It didn’t list the title, so I spent a while furiously trying to identify it, and when I finally did, I listened to it nonstop for probably two hours. I don’t normally listen to Steely Dan, but I absolutely love this song. The vocals and harmonies are beautiful, and there’s an awesome sax solo! Thank you Jim Parsons for indirectly introducing me to one of my new favorite old songs!

Do it Again- The Kinks

I’m currently listening to this on repeat, so I thought it would be appropriate to post here. ๐Ÿ™‚
The Kinks have a lot of songs I listen to on repeat, and this is just one of them. I love the lyrics here, which depict monotony and dullness, but the song is anything but boring. It’s one of those songs I can just listen to over and over on any given afternoon and never tire of. With each day that goes by, I more and more can’t believe how underrated the Kinks are by the general population.

Don’t Stop Me Now- Queen

This is one of the few popular Queen songs that surprisingly gets no radio airplay on my local classic rock station. That’s a shame, because it really is an awesome song. The piano is very Elton John-esque, which is just one of the things I love about it, and as always, Freddie Mercury proves his generally accepted status as “greatest rock vocalist of all time” with this song.

Anyway, that’s all for today. If you were unaware of any of these songs before reading this post, I highly suggest you check them out.
More Beatles coming your way soon! In the meantime, have a great week!

One thought on “Random Songs I’ve Been Obsessed With Recently- Part 2

Leave a Reply

